Organization and Governance

The Artificial Intelligence Division (AIJD)

The editorial process of the Artificial Intelligence Journal is performed by the Artificial Intelligence Journal Division, AIJD, under a contract with Elsevier B.V, the company that publishes the Journal. It is in charge of the acquisition, reception, selection, and evaluation of contributions to the AIJ, supplies accepted contributions to Elsevier for publication.

In formal terms, AIJD is one of the two divisions of IJCAI, the other division being IJCAI’s Conference division, in charge of the organization of the annual IJCAI conference. The inclusion of AIJ activities as a division within IJCAI occurred in 2002.

AIJD has the following committees and officers:

Editors-in-Chief who oversee the editorial activities of the journal
Sylvie Thiébaux, The Australian National University, Australia, and University of Toulouse, France.
Michael Wooldridge, University of Oxford, United Kingdom.

Review Editors who are in charge of the acquisition and evaluation of survey articles as well as book reviews, position papers, and similar publications
Luc De Raedt, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium.
Pascal Van Hentenryck, Georgia Tech, USA.

Competition Section Editor who is in charge of the acquisition and evaluation of competition summary articles
Jochen Renz, The Australian National University, Australia

The Associate Editors and Editorial Board Reviewers who assist the editors-in-chief in the reviewing process..
The full editorial board can be found at

The AIJD Secretariat is since 1st of August 2020 staffed by Karin Baardsen. She can be reached by email on

The Steering Committee which is in charge of major organizational decisions, including those of a financial character.
Rina Dechter, University of California at Irvine, USA.
Patrick Doherty, Linköping University, Sweden.
Kristian Kersting, Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany.
Sylvie Thiébaux, The Australian National University, Australia.
Zhi-Hua Zhou, Nanjing University, China.
Shlomo Zilberstein, University of Massachusetts, USA.

The Sponsorship Committee which is in charge of the acquisition and evaluation of sponsorship requests
Grigoris Antoniou, University of Huddersfield, UK.
Maria Gini, University of Minnesota, USA.
Francesca Rossi (chair), IBM and the University of Padova, USA and Italy.
Nevin L. Zhang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong.

The Awards Committee which is in charge of selecting the winners of the AIJ Classical and Prominent Paper Awards
Leila Amgoud, Toulouse Institute of Computer Science Research, France.
Pierre Baldi, University of California, Irvine, USA.
Roberto Navigli (chair), University of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy.
Scott Sanner, University of Toronto, Canada.
Toby Walsh, University of New South Wales and Data61, Australia.

The responsibilities and powers of these committees and persons are defined in bylaws that can be obtained from the Secretariat.